TL;DR
Get smart everyday buys delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
AJ Bell reduced the annual charge on its ready-made personal pension from 0.45% to 0.35% on 14 October, according to MoneyWeek. The report says the lower fee makes it one of the cheapest managed personal pensions, but the supplied information does not give competitor charges or explain whether other costs apply.
AJ Bell cut the annual charge on its ready-made personal pension from 0.45% to 0.35% on 14 October, lowering the stated fee for investors who want a hands-off approach. MoneyWeek reported that the new charge makes the pension one of the cheapest in the managed personal pension market, although the report supplied here does not list rival fees or establish a like-for-like comparison.
The fee reduction is 0.10 percentage points, or 10 basis points. It applies to AJ Bell’s ready-made personal pension, described in the source report as an option for investors taking a hands-off approach. The report says the change took effect on 14 October; it does not specify the year in the supplied material.
MoneyWeek characterised the new charge as putting AJ Bell among the lowest-fee managed personal pension options. That is the report’s market assessment, rather than a comparison supported in the supplied text by a table of providers, fee schedules or matching account assumptions. No statement from AJ Bell or a named company representative is included in the source material.
The source gives the annual charge as a percentage but does not set out how it is calculated, whether it applies to all account sizes, or whether customers may pay other charges for investments or services. The reduction is a change to the stated pension fee; it does not by itself establish the total cost for every saver or the performance of the underlying investments.
How the Lower Charge Affects Costs
A lower annual fee can reduce the amount charged to a pension account, leaving more of its value invested, all else being equal. The scale of the effect depends on the amount invested and the period for which the fee applies. The reduction from 0.45% to 0.35% is a percentage-point change, not a 10% reduction in pension costs overall: other charges and investment returns can also affect the outcome.
The news is relevant to people comparing managed or ready-made pensions, particularly those who prefer a provider to select or manage an investment approach rather than choosing investments themselves. But a headline fee is only one comparison point. Savers need to check what is included, how the charge is applied, investment choices, service terms and any additional costs before concluding that one pension is cheaper or more suitable.
MoneyWeek’s description of AJ Bell as one of the cheapest options gives readers a reason to review current provider pricing. The source information does not establish that it is the cheapest, nor does it show that the new charge will produce a better investment result. Fees and investment performance are separate considerations, and historical comparisons cannot guarantee future returns.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
The Fee Before and After
Before the change, AJ Bell’s stated annual charge for the ready-made personal pension was 0.45%. From 14 October, it was reduced to 0.35%, according to MoneyWeek’s report. The source describes the product as a personal pension for people seeking a managed, hands-off option; it does not provide further detail about the investment strategy or the services covered by the fee.
The headline asks how the new price compares with the rest of the market, and MoneyWeek’s article says it places the pension among the cheapest in its category. However, the source material provided for this report contains no named competitors, specific rival prices, comparison date or details about account sizes and inclusions. Those omissions matter because provider charges can use different structures, making a simple percentage comparison incomplete.
The reported change is a fee update, not an announcement of new investment performance or pension rules. The supplied report also includes no company quotation explaining the decision. The available confirmed detail is therefore limited to the provider, product, old and new annual charges, effective date as reported, and MoneyWeek’s broad comparison claim.
““one of the cheapest fee-wise on the managed personal pension market””
— MoneyWeek
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Questions on Total Pension Charges
The source does not identify the year of the 14 October change, provide a full fee schedule or say whether the 0.35% charge applies across all balances and customer circumstances. It also does not specify whether investment costs, transaction charges or other service fees sit outside the headline annual charge.
The market comparison remains limited in the material available: no rival providers or their current rates are named, and there is no indication that the comparison uses equivalent account sizes, services or investment choices. AJ Bell’s full terms and any provider statement about the reduction are also not included. Readers should treat the “one of the cheapest” wording as MoneyWeek’s reported characterisation, not as a verified ranking based on the supplied details.
low-cost managed personal pensions
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Check Current Provider Fee Details
Anyone considering the pension should check AJ Bell’s current product information for the applicable annual charge and any additional costs, then compare those terms with other providers using the same assumptions. The source material does not state whether AJ Bell plans further fee changes or when a more detailed market comparison will be published.
For a reliable comparison, the next useful details would be the full charge schedule, the services and investments covered, and equivalent current prices from competing managed personal pension providers. Until those are available, the confirmed development is the reduction in AJ Bell’s stated fee; the relative cost for a particular saver remains dependent on the terms and charges that apply to their account.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Key Questions
What fee did AJ Bell reduce?
MoneyWeek reports that AJ Bell reduced the annual charge on its ready-made personal pension from 0.45% to 0.35% on 14 October. The source does not specify the year.
Who is the ready-made pension aimed at?
The report describes it as an option for investors who want a hands-off approach. It does not give further detail about how the pension’s investments are selected or managed.
Is AJ Bell now the cheapest managed personal pension?
The source says the new fee makes it one of the cheapest in the managed personal pension market. It does not provide a competitor list or fee comparison proving that it is the cheapest.
Does the 0.35% charge include every pension cost?
The supplied report does not say whether investment costs, transaction charges or other service fees are included. Customers should check the provider’s full current fee information before comparing total costs.
Source: rss
Fall Picks
fall essentials
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
