AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

TL;DR

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get smart everyday buys delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Freegold reported a 213-metre drill interval grading 1.24 grams of gold per tonne at its Golden Summit project in Alaska, including narrower higher-grade sections. The company says drilling and technical studies are informing a smaller initial operation ahead of a prefeasibility study targeted for 2027; costs, processing choices and power needs remain under review.

Freegold reported a 213-metre interval grading 1.24 grams of gold per tonne at its Golden Summit project in Alaska, with the result feeding work on a smaller first-stage mine concept ahead of a prefeasibility study targeted for 2027. The interval, in hole GS2656 at the central Dolphin area, included higher-grade sections, but the company has not yet published the costs or other economic results needed to establish whether the proposed plan would be viable.

The GS2656 interval began at 422 metres downhole. Freegold said it included 21 metres grading 5.77 grams of gold per tonne from 467 metres, as well as a 3.1-metre section grading 32.7 grams from 482 metres. Those are downhole lengths; true widths have not been determined, so the reported lengths should not be read as the thickness of the mineralized zone.

The result was among assays from eight newly reported holes. Another hole, GS2647, intersected 375 metres grading 0.73 gram per tonne from 367.8 metres downhole. Hole GS2648, near the boundary between the Dolphin and Cleary zones, returned 30.5 metres at 1.67 grams from 63.1 metres, including 10.3 metres at 3.79 grams from 68.3 metres, Freegold said.

Freegold said it has drilled more than 58,000 metres this year in what it describes as the largest drill program in the project’s history, with more than 100 holes completed to date. The company said drilling was expected to continue until early December. Its stated goals include improving confidence in the geological model, tracing higher-grade corridors and identifying areas that could suit a smaller initial mine.

At a glance
updateWhen: Assays released Thursday; drilling is e…
The developmentFreegold released assays from eight Golden Summit drill holes, led by a 213-metre gold interval, as it works toward a 2027 prefeasibility study.

A Smaller First-Stage Mine Plan

The study approach could shape how Freegold evaluates the large deposit: rather than immediately designing a mine around the full resource, the company says it is examining a smaller initial pit to limit upfront capital requirements and accelerate payback, while keeping open the option to expand. That is a company objective, not a demonstrated economic outcome; the costs and potential returns have not been disclosed in the material provided.

Golden Summit is about 30 minutes by road from Fairbanks, according to The Northern Miner. Its scale and proximity make the project relevant to investors and regional observers, but the latest drill results alone do not establish a mine’s size, schedule, financing needs or likelihood of construction. Freegold says processing options, infrastructure and power requirements are still being evaluated.

The planned prefeasibility study is intended to bring those technical and economic questions into a more defined development plan. Until its findings are available, the smaller-pit concept remains an approach under study rather than an approved or fully costed project.

Amazon

gold prospecting equipment

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Resource Size and Study Route

A July 2025 estimate cited by The Northern Miner lists Golden Summit’s primary resource as 432 million tonnes grading 1.24 grams per tonne in the indicated category, containing 17.2 million ounces of gold, and 358 million tonnes grading 1.04 grams in the inferred category, containing 11.9 million ounces. Resource estimates describe mineralization at stated confidence levels; they are not, on their own, a reserve or proof that extraction would be economically feasible.

Freegold is advancing directly to a prefeasibility study without first completing a preliminary economic assessment. The currently defined primary resource occupies a limited portion of the company’s 13-by-6-kilometre property, within a footprint of about 2 by 1.5 kilometres. Freegold says this leaves room for exploration along trend, but potential expansion has not been established as mineable material.

The company is also evaluating a separate near-surface oxide resource as possible early feed for a starter pit. The cited estimate is 63.7 million tonnes at 0.45 gram per tonne in the indicated category, or 920,000 ounces. Freegold has not established in the supplied material that this material will be included in a mine plan.

Amazon

gold panning kit

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Key Mine Economics Remain Open

The latest assays do not settle whether a smaller operation can be built profitably. Capital and operating costs, processing options and power requirements remain under evaluation, and no completed prefeasibility study or mine schedule is reported in the source material. The company’s target is to complete that study in 2027.

It is also unclear how the latest intervals would translate into mineable widths or affect the resource model. Freegold says results are helping connect previously isolated higher-grade intercepts into more coherent corridors, but that is the company’s interpretation of ongoing drilling. The reported drill lengths are downhole measurements, with true widths undetermined.

The source does not provide a production forecast, reserve estimate, permitting timeline, construction decision or financing plan. Those matters should not be inferred from the intercept or resource figures.

Amazon

portable gold detector

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Drilling and Study Work Continue

Freegold said drilling was expected to continue until early December, while metallurgical testing, infrastructure planning and environmental baseline work proceed. Further assays may add detail on continuity and higher-grade zones, although the source does not specify a schedule for the next results.

The company’s stated milestone is a prefeasibility study in 2027. That study is expected to assess the proposed focused first-stage operation, including the smaller-pit concept. Its published findings should clarify the mine design and economic assumptions; until then, the development plan remains under evaluation.

Amazon

gold mining sluice box

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Key Questions

What did Freegold report at Golden Summit?

Freegold reported a 213-metre downhole interval grading 1.24 grams of gold per tonne in hole GS2656, beginning at 422 metres. The company also reported narrower, higher-grade sections within that interval.

Do the drill lengths show the deposit’s true thickness?

No. The reported figures are downhole lengths, and Freegold said true widths have not been determined. The interval lengths therefore cannot be treated as the actual thickness of mineralization.

What is Freegold’s proposed development approach?

The company says it is evaluating a smaller initial pit intended to reduce upfront capital requirements and allow for possible expansion later. Costs and other key project requirements remain under review.

When is the prefeasibility study expected?

Freegold is targeting a 2027 prefeasibility study. The company is continuing drilling and technical work before that milestone.

Does the resource estimate mean Golden Summit will become a mine?

No. Resource estimates describe identified mineralization at stated confidence levels; they do not establish that a project can be mined economically. Freegold has not reported the costs, reserves, production plan or construction decision in the supplied material.

Source: rss

This content is for general information only and is not financial, tax or legal advice. Consult a qualified professional for decisions about your money.
HALLOWEEN

Halloween Picks

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

You May Also Like

Glencore Gets RIGI Nod For $4B Argentina Copper Project

Argentina approved Glencore’s MARA project for RIGI investment incentives. The decision does not amount to a final construction approval.

Are RXO, PTC, LFCR, WAFD Obtaining Fair Deals For Their Shareholders?

Halper Sadeh says it is investigating proposed transactions involving RXO, PTC, Lifecore and WaFd; no findings of wrongdoing are stated.

Typesafe AI Raises $870M At $7.5B

Typesafe AI says it raised $870 million in a Series A led by Andreessen Horowitz, valuing the company at $7.5 billion.

ECB Executive Board Member Isabel Schnabel To Resign To Take Senior Role At IMF

ECB Executive Board member Isabel Schnabel will resign to accept a senior position at the IMF, marking a significant leadership change at the ECB.